My one issue with mumble

Mumble about Mumble

My one issue with mumble

Postby maxkohler » Tue Mar 26, 2013 8:42 pm

Is it's voice detection. It's subpar and basically useless - both the Signal to Noise and Amplitude options. Both of them pick up my keyboard typing noise whereas ventrilo's voice detection does not.

I've configured and tweaked it through both the audio wizard as well as the configure -> settings -> audio input interface; with advanced options enabled as well.

It's pretty important for games like sc2 where you have to click and hit so many different buttons and keys constantly that there isn't time to hold down a button for talking. And it's annoying for your teammate to hear all your clicking.
maxkohler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 8:10 pm

Re: My one issue with mumble

Postby hacst » Wed Mar 27, 2013 10:58 am

It works pretty well for me and for the people I'm usually chatting with. SC2 gaming makes a lot of noise I guess ;) We plan on upgrading to a new VAD system in the future (the SNR one definitely isn't what it should be, Amplitude usually works fine) but that won't happen for 1.2.4.

If automatic detection isn't working for you, for now there's only PTT or using a microphone which picks up less noise from the surroundings. If your hands are occupied I guess there's always the option of using something like an usb foot switch.
hacst
Team member
Team member
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 4:28 pm

Re: My one issue with mumble

Postby maxkohler » Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:16 am

usb foot switch

Interesting... never heard of that before.

Just looked it up and there's ones for $10! Wow that would definitely do the trick for now. Thanks!

And good to know you'll be working on it for future versions!
maxkohler
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 8:10 pm


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron