Murmur won't register as public

It crashed, it is bugged, ...

Murmur won't register as public

Postby zominym » Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:48 am

Hey Guys,

I'm setting up a mumble-server on my RPi, but I'm facing a little issue.

I want to make it visible in the public list, but can't make it ...

The options I set :

Code: Select all
serverpassword=
registerName=PADAZO
registerPassword=somepassword
registerUrl="http://mydomain"
registerHostname="http://mydomain:myport"


With mydomain being the address I use to connect to my server and myport the matching port ...
Connecting works well, but the server does not appear in the public list.
(It's hosted in France.)

Here are the logs :

Code: Select all
sudo cat /var/log/mumble-server/mumble-server.log
<W>2016-11-28 00:18:00.641 Initializing settings from /etc/mumble-server.ini (basepath /etc)
<W>2016-11-28 00:18:00.652 OpenSSL: OpenSSL 1.0.1t  3 May 2016
<C>2016-11-28 00:18:00.654 Successfully switched to uid 112
<W>2016-11-28 00:18:01.445 ServerDB: Opened SQLite database /var/lib/mumble-server/mumble-server.sqlite
<W>2016-11-28 00:18:01.497 Resource limits were 0 0
<W>2016-11-28 00:18:01.498 Successfully dropped capabilities
<W>2016-11-28 00:18:02.003 Murmur 1.2.8 (1.2.8-2) running on X11: Raspbian GNU/Linux 8.0 (jessie): Booting servers
<W>2016-11-28 00:18:02.148 1 => Server listening on [::]:64738
<W>2016-11-28 00:18:02.303 1 => Announcing server via bonjour
<W>2016-11-28 00:18:02.342 Object::connect: No such slot MurmurDBus::userTextMessage(const User *, const TextMessage &)
<W>2016-11-28 00:18:10.304 1 => <1:(-1)> New connection: 192.168.1.1:60890
<W>2016-11-28 00:18:10.771 1 => <1:(-1)> Client version 1.3.0 (Win: 1.3.0~1733~g153c0aa~snapshot)
<W>2016-11-28 00:18:11.127 1 => Starting voice thread
<W>2016-11-28 00:18:11.199 1 => CELT codec switch ffffffff80000010 0 (prefer ffffffff80000010) (Opus 1)
<W>2016-11-28 00:18:11.343 1 => <1:Atanakar(1)> Authenticated
<W>2016-11-28 00:20:27.616 1 => Registration: No DNS records found: Source-based callback failed. Server not reachable.


I guess the line
Code: Select all
Registration: No DNS records found: Source-based callback failed. Server not reachable.

Has something to do with it, but the dns are correct since I connect to the server using them, and sometimes by messing with the parameters I get the line not to show but still no listing in public servers ... (Things like removing the port or removing the quotes.)

Any suggestion ?
zominym
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:38 am

Re: Murmur won't register as public

Postby kissaki » Fri Dec 30, 2016 12:33 am

MumPI: Your Mumble Web Interface in PHP
User avatar
kissaki
Team member
Team member
 
Posts: 1249
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 12:15 pm

Re: Murmur won't register as public

Postby Remeq » Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:41 am

Hello
I have same problem as friend above, on my RPi, unhashed things like he had and server is not visible, could you please precize what to unhash and what to leave unchanged? How much time is needed to be refreshed and seen on mumble public list?

#serverpassword=
registerName=ZAZAM
registerPassword=blank
#registerUrl=whatever
#registerHostname=blank

Thank you
Remeq
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:32 am
Location: Poland

Re: Murmur won't register as public

Postby fwaggle » Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:24 am

You need registerHostname uncommented, and it needs to be a hostname that publicly resolves to your server's IP.

If you get "Registration: Successful" then you'll show up in the server list sooner or later, how long depends on how aggressively the user's local mirror is caching the server list. If you get any other message about registration, that'll tell you what's going wrong.

"Registration failed" is a local error, "Registration:" is an error from the other end. So that means if you get "Registration failed: hostname lookup error" or something like that, it means your server couldn't resolve the public list server's hostname, but if you get "Registration: hostname lookup error" that means the server couldn't resolve your server's hostname (ie whatever's in registerHostname).

I think you also need registerUrl, but I'm not 100% sure on that.
Full disclosure: I run a semi-commercial Mumble host, and my opinions do not reflect the opinions of the Mumble project.
Avatar is stolen from here
User avatar
fwaggle
Team member
Team member
 
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Murmur won't register as public

Postby Remeq » Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:11 pm

Hello
Its workin now.
Had to put password , didnt understood that line probly, because there are two password lines. Glad ive found this forum.

Thank you
Goodday
Remeq
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 10:32 am
Location: Poland


Return to Technical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron