Jump to content
Mumble forums

People auto-reconnecting after kick/ban


warpedmonkeys
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hi,


Since update 1.2.5, whenever I kick/ban someone from my server, they will automatically reconnect after 10 seconds (the same time as the auto-reconnect feature). Same thing happens on the latest snapshot. It's like the client thinks he disconnected. Obviously everything was perfect with mumble 1.2.4. I reverted back my client to 1.2.4 and I don't auto-reconnect anymore. Here are some info that might help:

- Server is hosted by CommandChannel

- Server version 1.2.4

- Clients are all Windows machines running either Win7 or Win8.1

- Clients are all running mumble 1.2.5 or the latest 1.3.0 snapshot


Is this happening to someone else? If it's only me, I'll try contacting CC support team.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I just checked my server, Murmur 1.2.4, with Mumble 1.2.5. I kick, obviously the client reconnects. But, I ban- the client attempts to connect, but cannot.


I hate to ask, but are you just kicking them? You have to actually ban them, as they are not the same thing. I assume you're doing it right, because it works with one client version and not the other, but I just have to ask.


Also, I tried Win 7 and 8.1, with expected results of both actions. So, not a bug in Murmur or Mumble, probably.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderators

In older versions of Mumble the client did not reconnect after a kick (without ban). I have the same problem on a private server. It first happened in the 1.2.4 development snapshots.

So this is probably a bug.


@warpedmonkeys: Does your client log also say "[16:58] Server connection failed: The TLS/SSL connection has been closed." after "You were kicked from the server: ." ?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes sorry, bad explanation from me. Obviously when I ban them, they cannot reconnect, but as soon as I remove them from the ban list they will reconnect.


@natenom: Here's what happens:

[4:13:16 PM] You were kicked from the server by SuperUser: Test.

[4:13:16 PM] Server connection failed: The TLS/SSL connection has been closed.

[4:13:26 PM] Reconnecting.



The problem is that I have a certain number of slots for my server which is perfectly fine normally, but people have the weird idea that the AFK Channel is a place where you can stay when you go on vacation. I used to kick them to solve this issue. Banning isn't really an option for me, usually people don't stay friends very long when they get banned.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 months later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...