This is a read-only archive of the Mumble forums.

This website archives and makes accessible historical state. It receives no updates or corrections. It is provided only to keep the information accessible as-is, under their old address.

For up-to-date information please refer to the Mumble website and its linked documentation and other resources. For support please refer to one of our other community/support channels.

I can't be heard on my server, but I can hear everyone else

shakymaky

Hi! So I'm new to Mumble and I've been trying to set up a server but I've run into an issue. I follow the guides and set everything up like I'm supposed to and both me and my friends are able to connect to my server. However, the problem is that while I can hear my friends, they can't hear me, despite the fact that the mouth icon in Mumble shows me as broadcasting. So I looked it up and found out that I could use the "loopback" function to check where the issue was. When I set the loopback to local I can hear myself just fine (so the problem is not my microphone), but when I set it to server it goes completely quiet, i.e. my voice is not being sent to the server. I thought this was weird, and I sent my friend the exact same ini file I used to host the server and told him to try hosting it, and when he did he could hear me, but I could not hear him... Both of us have forwarded our ports, so that does not seem to be the issue.

So what I then tried was installing a mumble server on my Raspberry Pi connected to my router. Same thing there, I can't hear myself on server loopback. So what I tried on a hunch was to join the Pi server using a VPN and voila, it worked.... So I'm assuming this problem is IP related somehow but I have absolutely zero idea how I'm supposed to fix this and hours of googling have not given me a solution to this problem. Any help with this issue would be appreciated, or else I'll just have to stick to Skype...

• Administrators