This is a read-only archive of the Mumble forums.

This website archives and makes accessible historical state. It receives no updates or corrections. It is provided only to keep the information accessible as-is, under their old address.

For up-to-date information please refer to the Mumble website and its linked documentation and other resources. For support please refer to one of our other community/support channels.

Newbie Mumble Questions

trymeout

I am new to Mumble and had a few questions about the software. I have Mumble on my computer, Murmur on my computer and Pumble on my phone.

I want to use Mumble for voice chat in games. I would like to be able to join mumble servers on my phone or my computer and host a server on my computer whenever I want.

1. When you talk on any mumble server, weather you have a certificate or not will your connection be encrypted?

2. When you join a server for the first time and it asks to generate a certificate for the server, is this needed for an encrypted connection?

3. Mumble when I go to Configure > Certificate Wizard it says I should make a trusted certificate. And when I try to generate one it ask for an email address? Do I need to do this to use Mumble and will my encryption be weak without it?

4. What kind of encryption is used in Mumble?

5. How do I host a private server that is password protected on my computer (No hosting provider) and only have it run when I run murmur?

6. Can I host a private server on my computer and use a VPN to protect my IP? Or will it not be possible to use a VPN to host a server.

The goal is to be able to use Mumble securely with encryption in every instance, not expose my IP by using a VPN weather I am running a private server or connecting to a server in the client.

• Administrators

1. yes. user certs are for authentication and friend list across servers.

2. uh, the server does not ask you though!? are you talking about the client?