This is a read-only archive of the Mumble forums.

This website archives and makes accessible historical state. It receives no updates or corrections. It is provided only to keep the information accessible as-is, under their old address.

For up-to-date information please refer to the Mumble website and its linked documentation and other resources. For support please refer to one of our other community/support channels.

New to Mumble need help setting up Murmur for my guild.

usasurakai

Greetings folks,

I'm new to mumble and it seems like a very useful and innovative program. and from what i have seen so far i like it very much!

I am tasked with setting up a mumble server for my guild on world of warcraft. Problem is that i do not know where to start at all. It's like staring at a 300 lb cheeseburger and picking a spot to bite first.

Some technical information:

Windows Vista SP2

Firefox web browser

this is also the computer that will be hosting the server.

I have installed ICE and XAMPP, as well as the bonjour browser.

So if you have any help for a technical noob it would be much appreciated.

The first thing you'll want to do is get off Windows Vista. :)

After that, install Mumble and Murmur (Murmur is the server part, Mumble is the client part - both are included in the same download).

Once you have it installed, edit the murmur.ini file with Notepad (this file is located in the Mumble folder, so on 64-bit it's here: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Mumble" - on 32-bit it's here: "C:\Program Files\Mumble"). Read through it and make any changes that you think you would like. It's fairly well documented, and if you don't understand what one or two settings do you can probably skip them (post here though if you're not sure). The main one you'll probably be interested in is the number of slots your server will have.

Once you've saved your changes, go to the command prompt and navigate to the Mumble folder, i.e.:

cd "\Program Files (x86)\Mumble"