This is a read-only archive of the Mumble forums.

This website archives and makes accessible historical state. It receives no updates or corrections. It is provided only to keep the information accessible as-is, under their old address.

For up-to-date information please refer to the Mumble website and its linked documentation and other resources. For support please refer to one of our other community/support channels.

4 years of Running mumble servers(problems noticed)

darkcon

I've been running mumble servers for 4 years now, for guilds in games and a large public server in NZ

You folks who've made mumble have done an awesome job, and I'm slowly converting people to it one guild at a time.

The things I've noticed that make it hard for people to convert from vent/teamspeak(due to mumble being free, opensource, better sounding/voice normalisation) to this are simple, not bugs, but should be easily sorted if anyones interested

these are basically the things I've noticed people have problems with(most of them are vary between computer illiterate and semi) :

Push to talk Vs auto voice activated: Push to talk setup on the install should be the recommended over the auto voice activation. Most people have problems setting up the voice activated setup on mumble install and end up breathing heavy/having music blaring in the backround,

Possible solution: if the client had the person forced to choose a push to talk button, and the voice activation left to be setup in the settings menu if they choose to, alot of confusion would be gone for alot of vent converters.

SSL Auto Message: the Huge auto SSL message on first time Join of a run of the mill server to long did not read is the usual, but click no, then can't get on

Possible solution: bold red text at the top with a short message saying this is the auto security certificate, click yes if you wish to connect, no if not.