How to set mumble to use your default sound device

How to do...
niugnep
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Mar 2017, 03:25

How to set mumble to use your default sound device

Post by niugnep »

Is there a way to set your sound to come from your default device instead of your default communications device? Thanks.

hacst
Team member
Team member
Posts: 339
Joined: 23 Sep 2009, 16:28

Re: How to set mumble to use your default sound device

Post by hacst »

As mumble is a communication application it uses the default communication device by default. You can however configure mumble to use a fixed audio device of your choice instead. This can be done from the Configuration when the "Advanced" checkbox is checked.

XKfTDW3eGL5NJ72dMavc
Posts: 3
Joined: 02 May 2017, 03:11

Re: How to set mumble to use your default sound device

Post by XKfTDW3eGL5NJ72dMavc »

Mumble doesn't seem to respect the explicit Audio Output Device?

At least, on my two computers (Win 10), I can't force a specific output device. It just always goes to the system default regardless of settings in Mumble.

niugnep
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Mar 2017, 03:25

Re: How to set mumble to use your default sound device

Post by niugnep »

Is it possible for users to change mumble to a regular application instead of a communication application?

mkrautz
Team member
Team member
Posts: 200
Joined: 23 Sep 2009, 16:57

Re: How to set mumble to use your default sound device

Post by mkrautz »

XKfTDW3eGL5NJ72dMavc wrote: Mumble doesn't seem to respect the explicit Audio Output Device?

At least, on my two computers (Win 10), I can't force a specific output device. It just always goes to the system default regardless of settings in Mumble.
This issue seems to pop up a lot.

Mumble doesn't respect the chosen output device for Text-to-Speech: we simply use Microsoft's Text-to-Speech API, and whatever default output device it uses.

I've filed this issue for the problem:
https://github.com/mumble-voip/mumble/issues/3116

mkrautz
Team member
Team member
Posts: 200
Joined: 23 Sep 2009, 16:57

Re: How to set mumble to use your default sound device

Post by mkrautz »

Is it possible for users to change mumble to a regular application instead of a communication application?
Hmm, not at the moment. But it's something we could implement...

mkrautz
Team member
Team member
Posts: 200
Joined: 23 Sep 2009, 16:57

Re: How to set mumble to use your default sound device

Post by mkrautz »


niugnep
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Mar 2017, 03:25

Re: How to set mumble to use your default sound device

Post by niugnep »

How do I implement this on my application of mumble?

User avatar
kissaki
Team member
Team member
Posts: 1452
Joined: 09 Jan 2010, 12:15
Contact:

Re: How to set mumble to use your default sound device

Post by kissaki »

You can download a 1.3.0 development snapshot from our website mumble.info, which is regularly updated with our in-development next-version code base.

From the linked changes this setting (wasapi/role) is not available in Mumbles gui, but you can set it in the registry where the settings are stored.

niugnep
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Mar 2017, 03:25

Re: How to set mumble to use your default sound device

Post by niugnep »

Um sort of confused, how do i modify my registry?

Post Reply